Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

SHARE
Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

Bezel-less, dual cameras, face unlock system and a huge display – Huawei knows what you want from budget smartphone. Two years ago, there were not even the flagships from Samsung and Apple with all these features. However, today you can get very good smartphone for just $230.

Bezel-less displays and dual cameras are the main trends on phone market, according to IDC and GfK reports.

In 2018, the popular trends last went into the budget segment. A modern smartphone with a price of about $150-200 already have dual camera, 18:9 display, energy-efficient processor, a biometric protection, such as face unlock.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

By the way, do you know that Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 is the same Huawei Y7 Prime, but without fingerprint reader? It is the main difference between these phones.

Today we want to talk about one of the most interesting budget phones from Huawei called Y7 Pro 2018. It shares the impressions of premium device, but with attractive price.

PRESALE
HUAWEI Y7 Pro 2018
GearBest

HUAWEI Y7 Pro 2018

Price: $199.99
Price: $199.99 Less

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018: Design

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 looks like a typical budget smartphone. Bezel-less display is actually not so bezel-less. The difference with the flagship phones is visible to the naked eye.

However, it has an advantages – the smartphone doesn’t have a notch. The camera, earpiece and sensors are exactly above the screen. At the same time, in comparison with the budget models of the past years, the bezels around the display are much smaller, while the useful space on the front panel has increased. The black bars have decreased, the aspect ratio has changed (18:9).

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

The body is made of plastic, but it tries to look like metal (quite successfully, in my opinion). I already used this phone for about some weeks, and the body was not scratched. The screen, which is originally protected by the film, also not damaged in the neighborhood with keys and other stuff in my bag.

At the back there is a dual camera with a flash. It protrudes noticeably (it’s strange how in such a thick body the camera did not fit).

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

In general, the built-quality is good, and Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 looks like a device in accordance with the price.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018: Display

Huawei Y7 Pro (2018) is equipped with 5.99-inch IPS-display. It has the resolution of 720×1440 pixels and pixel density of 269 dots per inch. If pixelation is not so noticeable, then low brightness is a problem when you use the smartphone in direct sunlight. Of couse, the image is readable, although you have to strain. From other side, you cannot play racing games outdoors or somewhere in the transport.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

In my opinion, it’s better to have a smaller screen, but brighter.

There are no problems with color rendering, especially since there is an adjustmeny of color temperature in the screen settings, as well as the mode of protecting eye (reduces the saturation of the blue color). The sensitivity of the display is high. The light sensor works correctly.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018: Performance

According to specifications of smartphone, it is entry-level device. The smartphone has not the most modern and powerful Qualcomm Snapdragon 430 processor (20 nm process technology and 8 cores Cortex A53). However, there is 3GB of RAM, which is really good for multitasking.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

Huawei made a great job with its user interface for the last years. Of course, UI doesn’t fly, because of entry-level hardware, however it is very comfortable to use. The main problem I noticed is camera app. It takes a lot of time to start.

If we talk about games, then, for example, Temple Run 2 or Real Racing 3 runs pretty good. You can play these games, although in Temple Run 2 the graphics still slows down and it’s better to set low settings. In general, the low resolution of the display plays into the hands of the smartphone.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

As I already said earlier, Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 doesn’t have fingerprint reader. However, you can use face unlock. I want to notice that even budget Huawei phone copes with face recognition better than Samsung’s top-end devices.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018: Battery

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

The model is equipped with 3000mAh battery. At average loads (a few games, a couple of messengers, a couple of dozens of snapshots per day and surfing the Internet), the smartphone works about one day on a single charge. It is good result.

If you play heavy games for hours, then the battery lasts for half a day. The PC Mark test shows about 8 hours of battery life.

Huawei Y7 Prime 2018 Review: premium smartphone for a reasonable price

Just like previous models, new Huawe smartphone has an option “reduce the screen resolution to save battery”. I use this feature only in extreme cases, because it is quite unpleasant to use the device.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018: Camera

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 is equipped with dual main camera (13 MP + 2 MP). After taking photos, and looking on them on smartphone screen, I thought they are very bad. However, when I transferred images on PC, and checked them again, the photos are not so bad. It seems that display is bad, but not the camera.

The smartphone shoots good images for its price. I want to note about some things. First, the second camera in budget phones is  only a marketing trick. Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 has all the same problems as the previous models – the background blur looks artificial.

Also, the camera cannot take good images in low light conditions. Twilight and poor lighting, cloudy weather – all this is difficult for smartphone. You can see result below.

The selfie camera has a resolution of 8 MP. Also it is equipped with a flash. But neither high resolution nor flash help it to take good images.

Conclusion

Huawei has a very wide range of models in budget and mid-range segments, unlike Samsung, and it seems that Chinese company has seriously taken up competition with Xiaomi. At the same time, Huawei’s own models compete with each other.

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 REVIEW: Premium Design, but Entry-Level Specs

For example, Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 competes with Huawei P Smart. It has a slightly smaller display and a slightly higher price. At the same time, Huawei P Smart, being a representative of a more expensive series, is otherwise much more interesting. It has a high-quality screen, a more efficient processor and its design looks more interesting.

In my opinion, Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 is not bad smartphone. But I recommend you to wait a few weeks until the price drops up to $200. Then it will be really good phone.

PRESALE
HUAWEI Y7 Pro 2018
GearBest

HUAWEI Y7 Pro 2018

Price: $199.99
Price: $199.99 Less

Huawei Y7 Pro 2018 Video Review

Source: gsmarena